You say tomato we say tomatoe….

Cooking dinner and thinking of all you lovely Americans,  so many of whom I am lucky enough to have ‘met’  in recent weeks x

I am not on commission but heck I truly love my little spiral gadget for making long curls of carrot and courgette.  You all came to mind at this point,  firstly because I think you call it zucchini and secondly,  courgette changed to Corvette on predictive text on my mobile! Lol

image

Now dinner is seven minutes away so an indepth autopsy of our two different versions of English is doubtful but I’ll keep it food related and brief.  I personally want to know what biscuits are? Are they similar to our Yorkshire puddings?

What is a grit and would I know it if I tasted it?

Do you have black pudding out there?

If courgette is zucchini do you just slice it or curl it like my new gadget?

Lastly,  the dogs love the spiral gadget as after spiraling a carrot this is what is left,  a doggie popsicle and they go nuts for them!

image

Happy dining to you all.

Nest x

Posted from WordPress for Android

7 thoughts on “You say tomato we say tomatoe….

  1. I just saw a gadget (I believe it was called a “spiralizer”) for the first time about week ago, and am intrigued! There was a recipe using spiralized sweet potatoes and a white sauce that really sounded good. Since you’re the only person I know who has done this, I can pick your brain! How many actual vegetables does it take to make a decent amount? Does it take very long? Most importantly, how does it taste?

    And now for your questions: Grits are a southern dish I don’t care for. AT ALL. Maybe it’s an acquired taste. I think they’re served with butter, salt and pepper. To me they look like mushy rice. And I’ve never heard of black pudding. And we have zucchini different ways. In the summertime it’s great grilled with a little olive oil and garlic salt. It can also be sliced into little coins and steamed.

    Time to go raid the kitchen…I’m suddenly hungry! xx

    Like

    • Yes, yes a spiralizer! It is fab. It is completely manual, very easy to clean and I just love the texture of the carrot and courgette. You can even replace something like spaghetti with a big bowl of these curly veggies if you feel like avoiding the carbs occasionally. There are three blades, thing curly, thicker curly and then a blade which cuts like fettuccine and one of the blades can make curly fries. I’ve do far done lots of carrots and courgettes, and sweet potato fries. Works a bit like a corkscrew. Turn handle, carrot or something turns out comes spirals. One at a time and takes no time at all. Quick rinse of all parts straight away, easy peasey lemon squeezee! (note, doesn’t do lemons lol).

      It has suckee feet and I secure it to a glass chopping board so nice and easy to clear up after.

      I bought mine on Amazon, but don’t expect a automated device, good old manual but the spiralizer is the original so I’m told avoid replicas and but the real one.

      Hope this helps xx
      Nest

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it does help! The one I saw was in a Williams-Sonoma catalogue, so I’ll have to compare it to what’s on Amazon. Now I’ve got some cupboards to clean out so I have room for one more kitchen gadget!

        Like

      • I have found it best to put in a cupboard with easy access as I’m using it all the time, whereas if buried I doubt I’d hunt for it. I use an electric steamer to cook the veggies and can cook them al dente and they are so different in that different shape. Night night, 11pm here and I’m photographing 500+ children early tomorrow morning! Xx

        Like

  2. Grits (or hominy grits, if you want the full name) are made from corn treated with alkali. You can eat them with butter and salt, as Linda Tharpe said, or you can pour gravy on them or eat them with eggs. Or pretty much anything else that will give them some taste. They’re basically a bland background food that needs a bit of a boost–like rice, say, or potatoes.

    Biscuits, now–if there are gods, biscuits are the food of the gods. What I’m talking about are baking powder biscuits or buttermilk biscuits. They’re a cousin of the scone, only less sweet. You can eat them with butter, jam, honey, or any combination of the above–although I don’t guess I’d recommend honey and jam.

    Finally, black pudding. I never heard of it before I moved to the U.K. That doesn’t mean someone somewhere doesn’t eat it, but if they do they didn’t tell me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

